Our little Madeleine in six weeks old as of Friday! Since I last updated she has outgrown about half of her newborn clothes, and is now able to wear things marked 0-3, as well as a good portion of the 3 month clothes. It’ crazy to me that she has grown so much in just six weeks. When we brought her home she was so little that the only outfit that actually fit her was a premie outfit (“up to 5 lbs”) that was my husband’s as a baby. We don’t have a pediatrician visit for another two weeks, but my husband weighed her a week ago and she was over 9 lbs. Not bad for someone who weighed under 6 lbs at her pedi appointment!

We recently stopped tracking all of her “stats” during the day. For those of you who are not parents I will explain. When you have a baby you have to keep track of things like when baby ate and for how long, which side (if you are breastfeeding), how many ounces/milliliters (if you are bottle feeding), when they sleep, when you change their diaper and the contents (you have to notice things like the color and texture of their poop… lovely, right?). When we came home we downloaded an app called iBaby Feed*. We used it to keep up with all of this information. Once we made it to two weeks we stopped tracking her diapers because she was basically pooping every time she ate, so it was pretty easy to keep track of without logging. A few days ago we decided to stop tracking everything during the day. We still track at night, because we take turns getting up with her and it makes it easier to keep informed without waking the other person. It’s kind of liberating to go through my day caring for my daughter based on my instincts and knowledge of her, instead of doing things because the app tells me it is time, but I am so glad I had that app for the first few weeks while I was still learning to be a mom and to trust those instincts!

In other news, I got the all clear from the midwives at my six week appointment to begin working out. My husband and I started Weight Watchers today, and I am very much looking forward to getting back into shape! I still have about 30 lbs of weight that I gained during pregnancy (*gulp*). My ideal weight is 50 lbs lighter than I am today, so I have a long way to go! I haven’t been eating very well, though, so I am hoping that just improving my diet and continuing to breastfeed I will lose some of the weight I gained. For now I am taking it one day at a time, and will probably be posting on her occasionally to let you know how it is going. Words of encouragement (as well as recipes and other suggestions) are always welcome!

This Friday I am going to a breastfeeding support group for the very first time. I was going to go two weeks ago, but then I got mastitis and there was no way on God’s green earth that I was going ANYWHERE. This past Friday it was canceled because of Independence Day. I am trying really hard to get up the courage to get out of the house more with Maddie on my own, so this will be a good step in that direction. I also came across a website called Rookie Moms*. It is geared towards first-time moms and there are weekly challenges you can do to encourage getting out and about. So far I have only done one challenge. I am going to try to blog about the challenges as I complete them. I would love to hear about the things you other first-timers are doing with your babies!

I think this is probably enough for one day. I leave you with one of my favorite photos of my daughter and I!

I [heart] my mom

*These are my personal recommendations– I am not getting anything to promote the app or the website. The iBaby app is $3.99 in the iTunes store.

