fresh-picked raspberries

I have an unexpected day off from work today, so I thought this would be the perfect chance to write an update for you guys.

The weather is starting to cool off! I can’t wait for Fall to officially arrive, but in the mean time I am enjoying these last warm, sunny days. We went to a local orchard on Sunday to pick raspberries! Raspberries are my favorite fruit, and we ended up picking 4 quarts, most of which we have frozen to enjoy later. I have never been  berry-picking, and it was a lot of fun.

You may have picked up on the fact that I have had cysts before. I ended up in the ER a couple of years ago with severe ovarian pain. It took a lot of testing and way too many people having access to my lady bits, but they finally informed me that both of my ovaries were riddled with cysts. They healed naturally on their own, but that experience has made me wary of getting them again. When they were doing an ultrasound, the technician actually asked me if I was on fertility medication. That’s a lot of cysts! Sometimes I wonder if I have PCOS, even though I don’t have any other symptoms.

Anyway, after my last cycle I had a lot of ovarian twinges. I was worried that it might mean another cyst. I decided to start back on taking maca root every day. I have read that it can help resolve cysts. I forgot how much I love maca! I stopped getting ovarian twinges, and it also stabilized my cycle, causing me to ovulate last night, 5 days early! We also had excellent timing this month. For the first time since our chemical pregnancy (in February) I actually feel positive about our chances this month. And even if we don’t get pregnant this month, our appointment is on Friday with the fertility clinic so we should know what we need to do differently next month.

This is the first time in a long time that I have felt like I am on my way to becoming a mom. For months I have felt like a puppy chasing its tail… it’s a good feeling to know that we can actually work towards our goal!

