Let me start with the following disclaimer: I am THRILLED to be pregnant. I have wanted this for so long, and I could not be happier.

That said… being pregnant is hard work! If you read my 5 week update, you will remember that I said I have been “pretty nauseated, off and on”. Well, that’s over. Yesterday I spent most of the day feeling like I was about the vomit. Eating a saltine cracker might lessen the feeling a little… for 5 minutes…. and then it would be back with a vengeance! We also had to spend a bit of timing driving and I learned that the only thing worse than morning sickness is morning sickness that gets much, much worse when I’m in the car! I kept having to get my husband to pull over, but for the life of me I just COULD. NOT. VOMIT. I can’t be the only person out there who knows why this is bad, right?

Today was a little better, but the nausea is now pretty much consistent from the time I wake up to the time I go to sleep (and any time I would wake up to go to the bathroom at night). My sweet husband has been super helpful. Tonight he made dinner and he is cleaning the kitchen. When I get home from work and all I feel like doing is lying on the couch, watching TV, or going to bed, he lets me.

I knew that pregnancy is not a walk in the park… I just didn’t really GET IT. Ya know? Anyway, now I am learning first hand how tough it can be. I have a new respect for all the women of the world who go through this, and especially for those who go through it alone or under more difficult circumstances.

