Avocado

Baby is the Size of an Avocado!

What’s happening with the baby? Baby is now about 4.5 inches long, and weighs about 3.5 ounces! She is getting ready for a major growth spurt: she will double her weight this month and add several inches to her length.

Total weight gain? I have gained a little more than two pounds so far this trimester. Not bad!

Maternity clothes? Still just the maternity jeans and using a belly band the rest of the time.

Sleep? I am back to getting to sleep at a normal time and waking up around 9:30 or 10. I am having more trouble getting to sleep though, and I can no longer sleep on my stomach, which I am struggling to adapt to.

Best moment this week? Snow day! Also, see “movement”.

Miss anything? see “food cravings”!

Movement? I THINK I FELT THE BABY! I know it is early, but I really think I may have felt her yesterday! I was sitting on the couch watching TV and knitting and it kind of snuck up on me. All of the sudden I realized I was feeling a tiny fluttering feeling right where the baby should be. WOW!

Food cravings? I keep craving foods I am not supposed to eat: soft cheeses, wine, cold sandwiches from the deli, sushi, caesar salad… there are always available alternatives, but it’s just not the same! Sometimes I wish I were one of the pregnant ladies who didn’t feel the need to try so hard to “be good”! The other night we were driving out to a nearby town to visit Motherhood Maternity and get me some maternity jeans. We needed to eat dinner and nothing sounded good. Then my husband suggested Cracker Barrel and I got REALLY excited. We moved from the south and I MISS Southern cookin’! I got a Chicken Fried Steak, fried okra, mashed potatoes, and macaroni and cheese. And I ate nearly every bite! It was SOOOO good.

Anything make you queasy or sick? When I go too long without eating I start to feel sick. I am eating smallish meals about every 3 hours these days.

Gender? I am convinced it’s a girl. Which means, of course, that it’ll probably end up being a boy! Although I did read some studies that asserted that women are about to intuit with up to 71% accuracy the sex of their unborn babies.

Symptoms? I have been feeling like my organs are getting squished. Sometimes I can NOT get comfortable in any position because it just feels like everything is getting pushed up into my lungs. For the past week I have been struggling to breath deeply, too. Everything I read says this is normal at this stage in pregnancy, but gee it’s annoying!

Wedding/Engagement Rings on or off? On.

Looking forward to?  Our next appointment on Friday! And a week from today we will be going home to spend Christmas with my family– all of us together for the holiday for the first time in years!

