I am 24 weeks + 2 days and holed up in my bedroom. I awoke with a headache (bah!) and this is the darkest room in the house. I have my laptop, my cat, my phone, and a few other things to occupy me, though, so it won’t be a complete waste of a day.

I have not been having an easy time of it lately. Health-wise, everything is pretty fine. It is a series of external circumstances that have been making the last few weeks especially difficult for me.

(1) We have two cars, but one of them needs some work done. We are trying to spread out our financial burdens, so my husband has been taking my car into work every day. We are very lucky to have the flexibility to do this, but it means I am stuck at home day after day.

(2) It has been quite the snowy winter for us. We have only had a handful of days above freezing, and all that they serve to do is melt the snow just enough that when it freezes again the next day we are left with a thick layer of ice over everything. This means it is not even safe for me to go check the mail, much less take a walk alone during the day.

(3) I don’t have any friends! We moved here right at the end of June, and I became pregnant in September. We had just settled in to the point where we were actively trying to meet new people, when morning sickness knocked me off my feet for three months. Needless to day, that put a cramp in a small, burgeoning social life. As a result I don’t know anyone, and have no way to meet new people. 

Now, don’t get me wrong. I am an introvert and I can thrive in a “lonely” environment better than most people probably can. But spending day after day alone, indoors, with no viable options for meeting anyone has been getting to me. My dear husband and I have come up with a few things that I hope will help. We are going to get out once a week and go somewhere public that is not a store. For example, on Friday we went to a local coffee shop, drank coffee and played a game. It was great to be OUT and amongst other people (even some young people!). Our childbirth class starts in March, and that will be great, too. It’s supposed to be just 5 or 6 couples and it lasts the entire month (one night a week). I also discovered that one of the local schools has a pool which is open to the community, and as soon as my new bathing suit top arrives we are going to try to go at least once a week to swim. That will be a good workout (which I need) and maybe give us the opportunity to meet some people.

In the mean time, I have been embracing the crafty side of myself as I nest in the only way I can right now. I figured out that we could save over $100 if I sew some of the baby things we need instead of buying them new from a store. So far I have made 15 burp cloths, I have started on a stack of cloth wipes, and I made one cover for our changing pad. I have also set about cleaning stains out of some baby clothes and toys that belonged to me and my husband as babies. Here are some pictures of the results so far:

Home-sewn burp cloths

Home-sewn flannel burp cloths

Home-sewn changing pad cover

Home-sewn changing pad cover

Before and After: one of my baby toys that I cleaned up

Before and After: one of my baby toys that I cleaned up

So now, without further ado, my week 24 update:

What’s happening with the baby? Baby’s lungs continue to mature. She is putting on weight and weighs about 1.5 lbs now. Her face is filling out and she now has eyelashes, eyebrows, and hair, but they are still white. 

Total weight gain? My weight has not changed in the last week (Still weighing in at 10 lbs over my pre-pregnancy weight). I am making a concerted effort to eat more healthily, especially since I have that blasted glucose test on Friday!

Sleep? I have been having a lot of really vivid nightmares. Sometimes I wake up my poor husband with my whimpering, and other times I wake myself up. Sometimes I wake up almost in tears! Not fun. I am still getting up a few times to use the bathroom at night. June Bug loves to kick my bladder at night.

Best moment this week? Getting out of the house to have coffee and play a game with my love! Also, I scored another good deal on CraigsList for a stroller frame thingy that our carseat attaches to.

Miss anything? I miss a lot. Right now I am mostly missing friends and family and warm weather.

Movement?  June Bug seems to have turned so that she is facing inward. I still feel her move a lot, but it is mostly deep inside me. This morning when I awoke she was pushing out, and I could feel a really firm place where she was (her head? butt? back?).

Food cravings? All the sweet things. Also maple and brown sugar oatmeal. 

Anything make you queasy or sick? I have been queasy a few times this week, but not sure why. It’s a mystery.

Gender? Girl!

Symptoms? Movement, back aches, and having a hard time getting up from the floor once I have gotten down. I keep forgetting that, though, until I am already down there and ready to get back up!

Wedding/Engagement Rings on or off? On, but a little bit tighter this week.

Looking forward to?  The third trimester! SPRING! Also, my in-laws are visiting at the end of the month!

