coconut

Baby is about the size of a coconut

 

How far along? 31 weeks and 4 days

What’s happening with the baby? Baby is around 17-18 inches long and weighs around 3.5 lbs. She is gearing up for a big growth spurt! She can now turn her head with intent, track light and sound, and process information from all 5 senses.

Total weight gain? I don’t really wanna talk about it. But I will, for you guys. Yesterday I weighed myself for the first time in a week (and exactly a week since my last appointment). My weight was up 6 (!!!) pounds! I called the midwives and ager answering some questions about my eating habits, swelling, etc they reassured me that it is likely nothing to be concerned about. Apparently sometimes babies grow in leaps and bounds and then plateau for a while. My next appointment is a week from tomorrow, so I will keep an eye on things in the meantime. Side note: my weight was back down a bit today (half a pound) so I think there is a good chance at least some of the weight is from water retention.

Sleep? Sleeping okay right now. My legs and hips hurt a lot first thing in the morning, but there’s not much I can do about that. Today I was up at 8 because the plumber was coming by at 8:30. He was here less than 15 minutes. At 10am I was struggling to keep my eyes open so I took a 3 hour nap! I don’t even feel guilty. When the baby comes I will never have opportunities for 3-hour mid-day naps, so I am taking advantage!

Best moment this week? We are finally all moved in to our new place. Unfortunately, being nearly 8 months pregnant is not super conducive to unpacking boxes and putting things away. But we will get there 🙂

Miss anything? Of course. But I am trying not to dwell 🙂

Movement? June Bug is still moving a lot. She continues to get hiccups occasionally, and seems to be spending most of her time head-down now. Let’s hope she stays that way! I can tell she is running out of room– she doesn’t flip and roll as much as she used to, but she does wiggle a lot and kick and jab with her elbows. When I awoke from my 3 hour nap, she was laying totally on my left side (her favorite side) and my belly was completely lop-sided.

Food cravings? I continue to eat through jar after jar of peanut butter. I eat it on sandwiches, crackers, bread, dip my toast into into it, and eat it plain by the spoonful when I need a quick something.

Anything make you queasy or sick? I’m doing okay this week. Thank goodness.

Gender? Girl!

Symptoms? Movement, back aches, sore ribs. The midwife confirmed that the “bruises” are in fact the beginnings of little stretch marks. They haven’t gotten much worse, and they are only on my right side… we’ll see what happens. I had some pretty bad sciatica (I guess) this week, but I have been taking it easy and it seems to have gotten better.

Wedding/Engagement Rings on or off? Off. I wear them on a  chain around my neck all the time now.

Looking forward to? This weekend we are going to start working on the nursery! I can not wait to put together the crib and to paint the dresser. I just can’t wait to see the room start to come together! I think we also have a trip to Ikea in the newer future…

