The past two days I have had contractions. They weren’t very regular, but they did get stronger/more uncomfortable over time. They would get more intense while walking or dancing or being on my feet for a while. I had some bloody show. 

Then today, nothing. *sigh*

Bring on the old wives tales! I am going to try some (harmless) natural ways of facilitating labor:

  • Prenatal Massage. I have one booked for 3:15 today– my belated birthday gift from my husband– and I can’t wait! I have also heard that a prenatal massage at this point can help… encourage things along. If nothing else it’ll calm me down.
  • Pineapple. Apparently pineapple contains something that helps ripen the cervix.
  • Nipple stimulation. Awkward to talk about, awkward to do! I am not going to do anything too intense (e.g. using breastpump), but gentle manual stimulation for 5 minutes at a time does bring on contractions, which some people say can bring on labor if your body is ready.
  • Sex. Need I say more?
  • Raspberry Leaf Tea. This doesn’t so much kick-start labor, as it does make contractions more effective. 

So. Any other suggestions? I am not willing to eat/take anything I wouldn’t otherwise eat. So no castor oil, please. 

 

