By my count, today I am officially four weeks. A part of me wonders if I ovulated earlier than I think I did, since I have already have positive tests for 6 days. I have an appointment scheduled for August 7th, at which point I should get a dating ultrasound and know for sure. I like the idea of doing a weekly update again, it makes it really nice to look back on and compare the two pregnancies. Maybe someday I will print them all out and make books for the kids. Most of the update will be about Cricket (the nickname we have given our embryo), but I will include a little update on Bug, too. After all, this is going to have a big impact on her life, too!

CRICKET

How far along? 4 weeks

What’s happening with the baby? Cricket is officially an embryo, about the size of a poppyseed! The amniotic sac and placenta are forming this week. In the mean time, the yolk sac is providing the necessary nutrients.

Total weight gain? none

Symptoms? Nausea that comes and goes all day long and, for some reason, is worse when I am trying to go to sleep at night. Getting worn out quickly! I am going to have to start lying down while Bug naps. Today my gag reflex seems to be kicking in again. This happened last time, but I can’t remember how early. I’ll have to search the blog!

Food cravings/aversion? Early pregnancy seems to have just intensified my normal cravings. I have definitely been feeling the need to avoid seafood, though.

Anything make you queasy or sick? The thought of sea-food. Trying to go to sleep at night. Waiting too long to eat. Dealing with dirty diapers (usually not an issue for me) or cat throw-up. Ugh. Can’t even think about it.

Sleep? I am sleeping pretty well. Trying to relish this as long as possible!

Movement? n/a

Labor Signs? n/a

Gender? n/a

Wedding/Engagement Rings on or off? On.

Best moment this week? Telling friends and family! We decided to tell immediate family right away, as well as our close friends. if something happens we’ll appreciate their support. We are waiting to tell extended family, friends/acquaintances/work/facebook until 12 weeks or so.

Miss anything? I do miss not having to think about whether the thing I am eating is going to harm my unborn child. I had a caesar salad last Friday because I was at a seafood place with friends and literally everything else on the menu sounded terrible. And I was just praying that the dressing was either bottled or not contaminated with bacteria! (caesar salad is one of the no-no foods).

Looking forward to? In the short-term, I am looking forward to our first appointment! In the long-term, I am looking forward having a round, pregnant belly again!

IMG_0806

BUG

How old? 13 months and 4 weeks

Achievements this week/month? She is on the verge of walking and she is quite the little talker these days, with a vocabulary of around 15 words. She practices combing hair– usually her own, but occasionally mine. She pretends to talk on the toy phone. She has a baby and can give the baby kisses. She blows kisses (but only to mama!) and waves hello and goodbye. She no longer needs us to rock her before she goes down for a nap or to sleep. She goes right into her crib, rolls to her tummy, and snuggles in with her teddy bear.

Best moment of this week? We’ve had the same bedtime routine for a long time. My husband gives her a bottle, then he gives her to me for “night-nights”. He carries her up to bed, but on the way they stop to say “nigh-night” and blow kisses. He always kinda helps her with the kiss-blowing part, but the other night she blew me a kiss for the first time unassisted. MELTED MY HEART!

Miss anything? I do miss the snuggly hugs of a younger baby… she is much too busy for such things now!

Looking forward to? We are going swimming with friends today, and I am really looking forward to that. Bug LOVES the water, and it should be a lot of fun.

IMG_0749

