The weeks are going by so much more quickly this time! I guess that’s what having a toddler to keep track of will do for you!

CRICKET

How far along? 6 Weeks

What’s happening with the baby? Cricket is about the size of a chocolate chip! Baby’s facial features (eyes, nose, ears, mouth) are beginning to form! The heart is now beating a rapid 100-160bpm. Lungs, brain, muscles, and bones are also beginning to form.

Total weight gain? The weight I had previously gained I have now lost again, so I am at zero weight-gain.

Maternity clothes? I am wearing maternity yoga pants for comfort on most days. I did wear some regular capris the other day, but it was so uncomfortable, even unbuttoned (with a belly band over it), that I won’t be doing that again anytime soon. I have one pair of jeans that still fit, but I need to pick up some maternity jeans soon!

Symptoms? All-day nausea. Occasional headaches. Odors are very strong, and make me gag. No vomiting yet, but according to this blog that kicked in around 8 weeks last time, so I probably still have that to look forward to.

Food cravings/aversion? Craving baked potatoes. Absolutely NO FISH or seafood.

Anything make you queasy or sick? Smells, eating, waiting too long to eat, being awake, diaper changes, certain sleep positions.

Sleep? It is starting to get uncomfortable to sleep on my stomach at night– it feels like everything is pushing up inside and making me feel sick.

Movement? n/a

Labor Signs? n/a

Gender? n/a

Wedding/Engagement Rings on or off? On

Best moment this week? I had a really rough day on Monday. I had a bad headache on top of the intense nausea. My sweet, wonderful husband came home from work to take care of Bug so that I could sleep and take care of myself. As miserable as that day was, it was a great reminder of what a generous and loving man I married. He’s a great Daddy to Bug and he’s going to be a great Daddy to Cricket!

Miss anything? Feeling normal.

Looking forward to? My appointment in 9 days! Also, getting past the first trimester so I can feel better again and also try to enjoy this pregnancy.

BUG

How old? 14 months

Achievements this week/month? She has figured out how to climb on the couch without help AND how to climb off again safely! She also seems to be self-weaning… she has not nursed in 3 days 😦

Best moment of this week? She has been saying “hi” for a long time, but she started saying “hello” now, so she comes over when I am lying down feeling like crap and says, “Hi! Hello!” and tilts her head sweetly and sometimes pats me on the head. It’s really sweet and makes me feel so loved by my little girl!

Miss anything? I miss nursing my baby! I was not ready to give it up, but she is not having any of it.

Looking forward to? Enjoying Fall with my daughter!

“Hello!”

