It’s fall! Temps are finally down in the 50s and 60s and tonight we celebrated with our first fire of the season. This is also our first Fall in our new house. It has a wood stove in the den which can be used to heat the house (though we also have baseboard heating, in case we can’t get the hang of the stove). Is there anything cozier than a toasty fire on a chilly night??

    
Cricket is 15 weeks now and I am definitely feeling movement. I can’t wait until my husband and daughter can feel it, too! I think I have finally stopped losing weight, but we’ll see. Today I didn’t have much of an appetite, and I still can’t stomach red meat at all. I can sometimes do chicken or fish, but not much of either. Such a weird thing to experience. 

Bug is doing great these days. She’s 26 months old now and walking (and climbing) everywhere. This week she has really been embracing the phrase “thank you”. It sounds like “tet-you” and she says it everything we give her something, she takes something, or she’s generally happy with what’s happening. Today she said “tiss” and leaves in for me to kiss her. Then she grinned and said “tet-you” so sweetly that I almost melted into a puddle right there on the floor. 

We’ve been struggling against her throwing food on the floor. Today we tried something new after talking to a friend whose daughter is just a few days younger than Bug. We gave her an empty bowl at dinner and told her, “we don’t throw food on the floor. When you’re done with your food you can put it in the bowl.” She threw one piece of broccoli on the floor. I put it back on her plate, repeated the statement, and pointed at the bowl. She put it in the bowl. And didn’t throw anything else on the floor! This whole time we have been telling her what NOT to do… But we weren’t giving her an alternative! It was a real light-bulb moment. 

Last night I got to go out with two friends and have a ladies night out. It was needed, appreciated, and SO enjoyed! I’ve come so far since that first lonely year here when I was pregnant, depressed, and didn’t know anyone. Thank goodness for the breastfeeding group. This pregnancy is more exhausting, but also more bearable thanks to my support system. 

Happy weekend!

