Today we headed to a friend’s house for a Fall brunch party. There were oodles of toddlers in assorted adorable Halloween costumes, plus a few cuties who showed up rocking their normal clothes (Bug was one of the latter). There was also a mom there with a 3 year-old and twin girls, just 3 months old. At one point someone handed one of these sweet twins to me, and I ended up holding her the rest of the time. I couldn’t help it! I was about to return her to her mama when she fell asleep on my chest.

Oh my. Those newborn days go so quickly, and it’s so easy to forget just how tiny and how precious they are at that stage! Especially when a certain toddler is rampaging around the house shouting “no!” or whining to be picked up or put down or whatever it is she wants now. Yes, they grow up and it happens fast, but for one brief moment they are tiny, helpless, and adorably squishy. I’m really looking forward to experiencing that one more time. 

In pregnancy news, I am 18 weeks with a definitely pregnant belly. The anatomy scan is on Monday and we can’t wait to find out whether Cricket is a boy or a girl! I am a little nervous about all the other stuff, too, and hoping we leave the appointment with only good news. I’ve been struggling with feeling really light-headed in the mornings, which my midwife attributes to low blood sugar. So now I’m under strict instructions to have a high protein snack at bedtime, a glass of juice before I get up in the morning, and to make sure I’m staying hydrated. The worst part is the snack at a time when I am not really hungry! But it does seem to help.

I leave you with a belly pic taken on Thursday and a picture of the world’s cutest Little Red Rudibg Hood! Oh, and in between I threw in a picture of Bug enjoying the Fall leaves. 😊

 

18 week belly!

18 week belly!

  
yay, leaves!

yay, leaves!

   

